Lean Out with Tara Henley
Lean Out with Tara Henley
Rachel Cohen: Why I Changed My Mind About Volunteering
7
0:00
-23:18

Rachel Cohen: Why I Changed My Mind About Volunteering

My interview with the Washington-based Vox reporter
7
Jupiterimages/Getty Images

There has been a story on the progressive left for some time now that individual actions are largely futile. That for society to change, we must instead focus on systems. My guest on the program today belongs to a generation that was raised on this message. But now she’s written a powerful piece about the costs that come with such a worldview — and how volunteering in her community helped her to rethink it.

Rachel Cohen is a reporter for Vox.com, covering American social policy. Her essay is “Why I Changed My Mind About Volunteering.”

Share

Rachel Cohen is my guest, today on Lean Out. Transcript to come for paid subscribers.

Lean Out with Tara Henley is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Lean Out with Tara Henley
Lean Out with Tara Henley
Conversations with heterodox authors and journalists from around the world, asking the questions that are not being asked.